2021-2022 Chair of Transportation, Construction, and Environment

Liam Lauren

Liam Lauren

My name is Liam Lauren and I am a second year Architectural and Building Technology student. I am running for the Chair of the School of TCE because I want to make this year all about getting back involved with the school environment and representing the student voice. In previous years I have been a set rep for the ABT program, Vice President of my high school grad class, organized and run multiple charity events, worked in the construction industry at a business level for two years and received 4 customer service awards. With that experience I want to represent and listen to my peers to make the school a more inviting place for them now that school is back to in person.





The Student Council, made up of the Executive Board and Councillors, are made up of the following elected positions. Each of these positions are responsible for overseeing the Student Association and advocating for students. These students contribute their time and effort towards improving campus life for their peers and moving our organization forward.

Click here to learn more about the current BCITSA Executive Board, still have questions, book a meeting and ask them directly.

Positions Available

  • Chair, School of Transportation, Construction, and the Environment

Candidate Eligibility

  1. Be a member in good standing with the BCITSA.
  2. Be a full-time student based on BCIT criteria or a PTS student taking a minimum of three (3) courses.
  3. Have a minimum of sixty-five percent (65%) previous term standing GPA (however, any candidates with no GPA at all should contact the Elections Administrator)
  4. For ATC chair only, be a full-time student in Level 1 or 2 of your first term.
  5. Not have previously been required to resign as an SA Executive, if (1) twelve months have not elapsed and (2) Council has not, by a 2/3 Resolution, permitted them to run.

Candidates may request, under the Bylaws, that the Elections Committee waive the GPA or course load requirements. Please contact for further information.

All Student Executives are expected to attend all scheduled Executive and Council Meetings, be informed and inform students of all things BCITSA, remain full-time students for their term in office, and submit bi-weekly progress reports. In addition, Student Executives have the opportunity to lead and help implement projects to enhance student life.

The President chairs the Board & is responsible for the overall management of the BCITSA. The four Vice Presidents perform specific duties and tasks that contribute to overall student development. The seven Chairs perform duties and tasks specific to the School or Campus they represent, and focus on issues specific to their School or Campus.

Serving as a student executive has been one of my most rewarding experiences at BCIT. As a student executive, you’ll have the opportunity to work with SA staff, BCIT’s senior leadership team, and local elected officials to make BCIT the educational experience of a lifetime for nearly 48,000 students. Rarely do post-secondary students have an opportunity to influence positive change on such a large scale.

Chair, Schools of Transportation, Construction & Environment

The seven (7) Chairs perform duties and tasks specific to the School or Campus they represent and focus on issues specific to their School or Campus.

Chair, School of Transportation, Construction & the Environment; 

• Organizes and chairs monthly Set Rep meetings, as applicable
• Liaises with Program Heads to ensure that Set Reps are
• Liaises between Council and their respective School or
Satellite Campus
• Appoints Student Councillors from their School or Satellite
Campus, as applicable
• In the case of TCE Chair, acts as chair of the Student Spaces
Development Committee

Important Dates

  • Monday, September 13, 2021

    Nominations Open @ 9:00 am

    Nomination forms will be available online here, or by emailing

  • Friday, September 24th, 2021

    Nominations Close @ 2:00 pm

    Deadline for Nomination Form – Please submit to BCITSA via email (
    Please text 778-834-4082 for confirmation, Late submissions will not be accepted.

    Suggested date to submit campaign materials for approval (materials may, however, be submitted at any time).

  • Wednesday, October 6th, 2021

    All Candidates Meeting (“ACM”)

    To be scheduled in consultation with the candidate applicants, either in-person or digitally.

  • Wednesday, October 6th, 2021 to Monday, October 25th, 2021

    Campaign Period
    Includes the pre-voting period and the voting period

    Start: Oct 6 @ 6:30 pm
    End:  Oct 25 @ 12:00 pm

  • Monday, October 18th, 2021 to Monday, October 25th, 2021

    Voting Opens Online @

    Start: October 18 @ 9:00 am
    End:  October 25 @ 12:00 pm

  • Monday, October 25, 2021

    Submit campaign budget and checklist to CRO by 4:00pm

  • Monday, October 25, 2021

    The official declaration of by-election results at or after 5:00pm

  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021

    Deadline to remove all printed campaign materials & posters @ 5:30pm